Thread: SEB-standard: Week 7 - Tri-County Comic Con

1. Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Post Thanks / Like

SEB-standard: Week 7 - Tri-County Comic Con

It's Wednesday kiddies...or it will be in 15 minutes...what can I say, I'm an enthusiastic young writer!

The meds help.

Anyway....

Don't you hate it when bad cons happen to good people?

Take for example the Tri County Comic Con in Orlando this past weekend. Even with the merging of two cons (Tampa's anime fest JANICON joined up) the turn out was still low they had about 600/700 per day.
    Surely the economy is a key factor. Anyone for a comic-bail-out package?

The good people I mentioned earlier are the creators and celebrities who made gracious appearances, only to sit bored at their booths all day.

The plus side...this meant I got to monopolize their time! Yay me!

In the weeks to come, I'll be posting interviews (possibly podcasts if we can find a way to sync my cheesy digital recorder to the site) with Ian Dorian from Spongeworx (my god, that man is talented!), Ghost Rider creator, Gary Freidrich; Actress/Voice Actress Lori Alan (Family Guy's Diane, Spongebob's Pearl, and Sue Storm of the 90's FF), and a shout out from the inimitable Mitch Hyman of Bubba the Redneck Werewolf fame.

I also got the invite to interview Angus Oblong, creator of, you guessed it, Cartoon Network's THE OBLONGS; artist extraordinaire Tommy Castillo; and (if I can get cleared with her agent) Rochelle Davis, who played Shelly in THE CROW film.

There were others, including SPACE GHOST (the coast-to-coast version) and Brak's Dad, George Lowe, who was nice (and funny) despite being sick and losing his voice.

It was a good bunch of creators, all with great stuff to show and discuss. But most of the crowd was there to buy a gazillion manga pins and wall scrolls.