Welcome to the first installment of Development Hell, a column devoted to the production of comics and difficulties that creators have getting a project from the idea phase to publication. I’m a comics writer myself, and I can attest that getting a comic made is not the easiest thing in the world to do.

Every entertainment industry has its own development hell. The video game world has the infamous DUKE NUKEM FOREVER, a project that was being developed as early as 1997 and now may see release in 2011. The movie biz had THE BODYGUARD starring Kevin Costner and Whitney Houston in 1992, but it could have had the film in 1976 with Steve McQueen and Diana Ross. Thomas Harris published THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS in 1988, but it took almost 11 years for its follow-up HANNIBAL to appear.

Delays in comics are nothing new. Every fan can tell you a story of how their favorite book’s schedule got screwed up. My own gut wrenching wait was for the final issues of PLANETARY, delayed by a myriad of reasons. It took a course of ten years (1999-2009) for us to see the completion of Warren Ellis’ vision of “archeologists of the unknown”. In the end whether the wait was worth it differs from fan to fan. For me, it was. For others, maybe not.

HERE THERE BE DRAGONS… OR NOT
This week I’ll be taking a look at another Warren Ellis project that could have been, MORNING DRAGONS.

Note the 2000 copyright in the bottom left hand corner of the Image above.